Seven Griffs to head to NCAA Zone ‘A’ meet



Vivian Mroz and Travis Wright will be two of the seven Canisius divers participating at the NCAA Zone ‘A’ meet at Rutgers University in March. (Graphic via Canisius Athletics)


By Mike Pesarchick

Sports Reporter

Seven Canisius divers have qualified for the NCAA Zones competition in March, the team announced via Twitter.

The Griffs who qualified for the meet are as follows:

Brett Palo: The freshman placed third in the 3-meter dive against Colgate, behind fellow Griffs Travis Wright and Kris Santos.

Vinnie Constanzo: Came in second place against Niagara behind Mroz in both the one- and three-meter dives. The sophomore also won MAAC Female Diver of the Week honors in November after an excellent showing against St. Bonaventure.

Gianna Cornelia: Finished in third place at the MAAC championships on Wednesday with a score of 238.35 in the women’s one-meter event.

Vivian Mroz: Named MAAC Female Diver of the Week on Jan. 25 after a stellar first place performance against Niagara. This was Mroz’s fourth Diver of the Week honor this season.

Josh Larcom: Had a top-three finish against Geneseo and placed second in the men’s one-meter dive against University at Rochester in October.

Travis Wright: The reigning MAAC’s Diver of the Year most recently took first in the men’s one-meter dive by nearly 30 points against Gannon in the team’s final meet on Jan. 26.

Kris Santos: Placed second in the one-meter against Gannon. He also was recently named Canisius Student-Athlete of the Week after taking a first place honor against Niagara.

What are zones?

Zones are a sort of “playoffs” for the NCAA Championship meet later on in the month of March.

Canisius’ divers will compete in one of the five ‘zones’ spread across the country. The seven Griffs will dive in the Zone ‘A’ meet that will be held at Rutgers University in New Brunswick, N.J. The Zone ‘B’ meet will be held at the University at Tennessee in Knoxville, Tenn., Zone ‘C’ at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, Zone ‘D’ at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, and Zone ‘E’ at the University of Arizona in Flagstaff, Ariz.

Each zone event will take place from March 5-7, except for Zone ‘C,’ which will take place from March 8-10.

Based on previous years performances by the divers there, each zone earns a predetermined number of qualifying places for the championships. For instance, in last year’s zone diving, Zone ‘A’ was allotted five qualifying places for the women’s one-meter event, while Zone ‘B’ was given 10.

Divers that qualify for the championships have all expenses paid by the NCAA for travel to the championship locations. This year, the women’s championships will be held at The Ohio State University from March 14-17, while the men’s championships will be held at The University of Minnesota from March 21-24.

Head Coach Scott Vanderzell was not available for comment.


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

© 2018 The Griffin. All rights reserved.
%d bloggers like this: