And the crowd goes…no where

The Griffin Goes Back is a series of articles in which a current contributor responds to the contributor to the newspaper during its earlier days. This article responds to an editorial published on January 26, 2007. The full text of it can be found online in the Library’s archives and in the printed edition of the paper. 

As we learned in the midst of the controversy surrounding the griffin statue last fall, students don’t seem to care about what’s going on until it’s right in front of their faces. Nearly a decade ago, the staff of this paper noted the same problem. Student apathy has been a perennial problem this year, popping up constantly and challenging student organizations and offices alike to be more creative about their attempts to get students to come to events.

I’ve attributed apathy in the past for the increased pressure for the College to assess its ability to execute its learning goals. I stand by the fact that students have more work to do and so therefore are unable to attend events on campus. Of course, this institution also has an endless amount of overlap on days for events (lest we ever forget the combination of Open House, a retreat, and Fall Fest last semester). However, event attendance goes beyond the over-availability of options, though I do challenge everyone to perhaps better coordinate this year. We should be a complementary campus, not a competing one.

Rather, student apathy seems like it’s an attitude issue in many ways. The Class of 2018 provides the antithesis to this, involved everywhere. As mentioned in the above editorial, UNITY’s 2016-2017 Executive Board is entirely rising juniors. Tim Utz and the six new Class of 2018 Senators permeate the student Senate. The new president of the Residence Hall Association is a junior as well. Campus Ministry and Student Life’s Resident Assistant staffs are both filled with the Class of 2018. They’re active, and they’re on the move. The rising seniors that are involved are excellent, don’t get me wrong, but the Class of 2018 is strong in its representation throughout campus. It’d be nice to see similar numbers from all four years.

We’re obviously here to get an education. That’s what our tuition pays for, but at the same time, being involved has at least the perk of improving one’s resume. I’ve always been able to talk about my experience in a variety of leadership roles during interviews, though, of course, that’s not why I do what I do. I love being involved. I have loved getting to know other student leaders and students on campus. An extra friendly face has always been a huge perk to me; it’s what helps me through the long nights in the library or wherever else I’ve holed myself up in the last four years. I often tell my friends who ask how involved they should be to build a balance between their work and their life, which is certainly hypocritical of me in many ways but that doesn’t make it bad advice. However, the potential for busy-ness shouldn’t be something that scares students away. Being busy is good. It gives you great time management skills, which are crucial in any facet of life.

I’m not judging you for not being involved. I would love to do that. There are many days, many naps from which I’ve awoken to go to a meeting, where I’ve wished that I had no other responsibilities other than my coursework. However, being involved on campus or in the community gives you a means of fulfillment that can help you decide what you want to do. There are over 90 clubs on campus, many of which pertain to an academic passion. There are internships here at the College that one can do. Really, the problem is that students don’t seem to care about anything, and getting involved is one solution to this. Go to events even. Show a degree of engagement in your community. Embrace your experience.

I sound like a billboard. Whoops. I can’t say that I’m too sorry about it, but apathy is a problem that I’m trying to solve. One can beat around the bush to an extent, but as a graduating senior, I’m going to take the opportunity to tell you this. Enjoy Canisius. Be able to look back and reminisce over experiences that those that come after you will also be able to relate to. Do something.

Leave a comment

© 2013 The Griffin. All rights reserved.
